DOE's Office of Nuclear Energy Honored

The U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Nuclear Energy was among those honored by the Partnership for Science and Technology (PST) as winners in the fourth annual PST Energy Advocate Awards. The awards are presented to individuals or organizations that were central to a noteworthy achievement in energy, nuclear energy or an environmental field that is of interest to PST members.

The awards were presented at the annual PST Awards Luncheon on February 21, 2012 at the Red Lion Hotel in Idaho Falls. The awards ceremony was held in conjunction with the Greater Idaho Falls Chamber of Commerce weekly business forum.

2010 PST Energy Advocate Award Winners



The Partnership for Science and Technology recently presented its fourth annual Energy Advocate Awards in Idaho Falls. Among those honored were Rick Provencher, manager of DOE's Idaho Operations Office, who represented the DOE Office of Nuclear Energy, which was honored for its quick response to the Fukushima reactor crisis; Teri Ehresman, communications liaison for the Idaho National Laboratory, who was honored for outstanding work in communicating the work being done by the lab in nuclear energy research; and Dr. Kathryn McCarthy, INL Deputy Associate Lab Director, who was selected for her role as a leader in the international nuclear energy science and technology community.

National Energy Advocate Award: Department of Energy Office of Nuclear Energy. The Office of Nuclear Energy was selected for the award based on the support provided to the people of Japan in response to the Fukushima Daiichi nuclear reactor crisis in March 2011, including the rapid, effective utilization of the diverse resources and capabilities of the Department of Energy and the national laboratories.

Local Energy Advocate Award: Teri Ehresman, Communications Liaison for INL's Nuclear Programs. Ms. Ehresman was selected for the award based on the significant role she played in

highlighting and sharing the great work INL is doing in advancing nuclear energy. In addition, Ms. Ehresman's expertise in communications has been key in helping educational institutions and elected officials better understand nuclear energy initiatives.

Nuclear Energy Advocate Award: Dr. Kathryn McCarthy, INL Deputy Associate Laboratory Director for Nuclear Science & Technology. Dr. McCarthy was selected for the award based on her role as a leader in the international nuclear energy science and technology community and her tireless efforts to share her passion and educate others about the benefits of nuclear energy.

Energy Education Advocate Award: Mr. Ken Erickson, Division Director, Eastern Idaho Technical College. Mr. Erickson was selected for the award based on his many years of providing leadership for the summer science-camp programs, which provide students with the unique opportunity to explore the wonders of science and technology, and his work with the Idaho National Laboratory in providing workforce training for laboratory employees.

ABOUT THE PARTNERSHIP FOR SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY

The Partnership for Science & Technology is a nonprofit, public-interest organization advocating for advancement of science, energy and technology and providing accurate and timely information on related regional activities including those at the Idaho National Laboratory.

Editorial Date February 24, 2012 By Brad Bugger