THE DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY Office of Public Affairs

News Media contacts:

(202) 586-4940

DOE Announces Secretary of Energy Advisory Board

Washington, D.C. – The U.S. Department of Energy today announced the members of the Secretary of Energy Advisory Board (SEAB). Eliminated during the last administration, SEAB is being reestablished under the Federal Advisory Committee Act. The twelve member board comprised of scientists, business executives, academics and former government officials will serve as an independent advisory committee to Secretary Chu.

"I am honored that this talented group of individuals has agreed to offer their service to the Department and to the Nation," said Secretary Chu. "They will be providing their expertise and experience at a critical time for our country as we chart a new course toward a clean energy future."

The Board will provide advice and recommendations to the Secretary on the Department's basic and applied research, economic and national security policy, educational issues, operational issues and other activities as directed by the Secretary.

SEAB reports directly to the Secretary of Energy. It was chartered in 1990 to provide the Secretary with timely, balanced, external advice on issues concerning the Department. The board is expected to meet twice a year and at other times as needed. Subcommittees are also expected to be organized under SEAB.

Below is the list of SEAB Members:

Norman Augustine	Former Chairman and CEO, Lockheed Martin, Former Under Secretary
	for the Army
Ralph Cicerone	President of National Academy of Sciences
John Deutch	MIT Chemist, Former Under Secretary of Energy
Nicholas Donofrio	Former EVP of Innovation and Technology, IBM
Alexis Herman	Former Secretary of Labor
Chad Holliday, Jr.	Former CEO of Dupont
Michael McQuade	Senior VP, United Technologies Corporation
William Perry	Former Secretary of Defense, Stanford University Professor
Arthur Rosenfeld	Former Commissioner, California Energy Commission
Susan Tierney	Managing Principle, Analysis Group
Steven Westly	Managing Partner, Westly Group
Daniel Yergin	President, Cambridge Energy Research Associates

-DOE-